Skip to product information
1 of 1

Overproof - The High Life (2006) (CD)

Overproof - The High Life (2006) (CD)

Regular price $24.99 AUD
Regular price Sale price $24.99 AUD
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

HEAT is a fleeting thing in hip hop. What was hot yesterday might have cooled off by sunrise tomorrow. This won’t be a problem for Overproof. They’ve set their sights on The High Life and aren’t going to settle for anything less. The debut album from the Sydney trio is a musical melting pot thickened with banging basslines, moody synths and live guitars riffs, seasoned with the soul of Sydney city and served with a lashing of outlandish lyricism from three of the country’s most inspired MCs. Overproof are hotter than rocking your ski gear in summer, and there’s no sign of a cold front.


Overproof have applied the lessons learnt from years of development to sculpt an album ahead of it’s time, with a professionalism and polish rarely seen on a debut release. They’ve already made waves nationally with the album’s precursor, the highly regarded Bad News mixtape.


Vocalists Abuse, Fame & Swarmy have established a fearsome reputation in Australia by performing interstate amongst the nation’s finest (Hilltop Hoods, Hospice Crew, Funkoars, Lyrical Commission) as well as supporting numerous international acts (Kool Keith, J-Live, Tim Dog, Foreign Legion, Cage and Mr Lif). They’ve appeared on compilations including Airheads and Culture of Kings 3 and stood out among Australia’s best on “Don’t Point the Finger at Me” from Hospice Crew’s Visiting Hours album. Fame handles all the production on The High Life. His unique style has earned him status amongst the elite and seen him collaborate with artists such as The Herd, Mystro (UK), Lotek (UK), 13th Son, The Tongue, Hyjak n Torcha, Spit Syndicate and label mates Hospice Crew.


The ace up Overproof’s collective sleeve is their ability to develop a story and thoroughly explore a concept through rhyme. This is demonstrated on “Rise and Fall”, as the lads take the listener on a journey into the group’s future and spin the tale of their climb from the gutter to stardom and how it affects each of them individually. They also set mood with the skill of a seasoned novelist. Witness as they write a seedy chapter in the life of after hours Sydney on “Smutville” and take day jobs in the adult entertainment industry on “On The Set”. “Get Ours” arrives just in time for summer, with a smooth blend of plucked strings, keys, a riding bassline, swinging drums and fresh vocal styles that are guaranteed to pack the dancefloor at any club or house party. It’s one of those tracks that embeds itself in your head and won’t get out.


From the smooth, uplifting “Sunshine” (with it’s refreshing chorus from soul vocalist Ron E) to the frantic “Rock to This” and fiery guest appearances from Newsense (Hospice Crew) and 13th Son on “Better Than You” and Hyjak n Torcha on “The Livest”, Overproof have aimed high and hit every target. Enjoy The High Life this summer.

FORMAT:  Compact Disc
GENRE: Aussie Hip Hop
RECORD LABEL:  Broken Tooth Entertainment

1. What You Looking For 00:54

2. The High Life 04:03

3. Sunshine 04:42

4. Smutville 03:17

5. Ft DJ Diaz - Takeover 03:53

6. On The Set 03:59

7. Better Than You 05:43

8. Get Ours 04:18

9. The Worst Things 04:12

10. Rock To This 04:00

11. Crush The Stage 03:49

12. The Livest 05:13

13. Armageddon 04:59

14. Rise And Fall 03:31

15. Taste The Grit 05:01

16. On the Set (Remix) 03:24

17. Take It Slow 03:44


View full details
Your cart
Product Product subtotal Quantity Price Product subtotal
Overproof - The High Life (2006) (CD)
Overproof - The High Life (2006) (CD)
Overproof - The High Life (2006) (CD)
$24.99/ea $0.00